World Mental Health Awareness – I Don’t Want Awareness (I Want Acceptance)

I have to agree with this, I don’t want to have to explain myself to people, I want them to understand what my condition is, why I am the way I am, and to give some consideration to the difficulties I have dealing with social situations.

Anonymously Autistic

I have written my entire blog around the theme of being “Anonymous” because many Autistic people are invisible, unseen and anonymous in the world. Autism is an “invisible disability” meaning you can’t tell someone is Autistic unless you ask them (or know Autism VERY well and are paying close attention).

People have awareness of Autism – they know exists, they know that Autism is a popular conversation, and it’s prevalence seems to be increasing. In 2014 it was estimated that 1 in 68 children (1 in 42 boys and 1 in 189 girls) are diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder (ASD).

People know that Autistic children can have trouble in school and may be prone to meltdowns, but they don’t understand what causes a meltdown. Being aware that Autism exists and having acceptance of Autistic people are two very different things.

Today is World Mental Health Awareness day – but today I am NOT…

View original post 609 more words

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

