THE MASK OF NORMALITY – Hiding My True Self (An Asperger’s Conundrum)

I can relate to this in so many ways.

Anonymously Autistic

I’ve been talking a lot about passing and invisible disabilities over the past few months.

As Alyssa said – people don’t think I am Autistic because I can come off as “articulate, well adjusted, and extremely capable”.

I come off as a great problem solver, a bright woman, who is good at finding difficult solutions that others often miss. Certainly I can’t be Autistic.

All my anxiety is behind the scenes. Why? Well do you typically go around advertising all of your difficulties to the world do you (other than online)?

My disabilities and weaknesses are invisible but so are my strengths. At the same time all of my strengths and talents also remain hidden, due to self praise being interpreted as bragging.

I am a conundrum – a mix of invisible skills and invisible disabilities. Outwardly normal, trying to fill a role that I was not built for.

Acting…

View original post 85 more words

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

