The power of diagnosis as an adult.

I’m working on getting a diagnosis (as an adult) for autism/aspergers, I hope it will make some positive differences in my life, but I have, often, wondered whether things might have been better if I was diagnosed as a child, the signs were definitely there, but no-one noticed or paid attention to them.

A is for ...

I’ve been doing a lot of reflection lately and something I thought about was “how life would have been different had I known about my Autism as a child”. 

I was a little angry at the world about this – that not one person picked it up! And I let this thought anger and distress me. I let myself feel sorry for myself and all of the “lost generation”. About all the misunderstandings and struggles we all faced at various levels with no explanation.

I can’t conclude whether this is a bad thing or good thing for anyone else but myself. So my personal view on the matter is that although I felt this sadness and anger about it – I am glad I didn’t know. This may go against the grain of the majority, but allow me to explain..

It’s one thing to “feel” different…

View original post 681 more words

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

