A guest post from Ben Jackson.

I’m often asked how we came up with the idea for our children’s book series. Well, maybe before I explain how we came up with the idea I should explain a bit about who I am and what my books are about!

IMG_4672.JPGI started off writing a few non-fiction books with my wife. Divorce Recovery, Long Distance Relationships, etc. but it wasn’t what we wanted to be focusing on. I wrote a book How To Survive The Zombie Apocalypse which was meant to be a joke but ended up semi-serious. Well, as serious as a zombie apocalypse survival book could be!

My wife and I met online and started a very long distance relationship, Canada to Australia to be exact. That was almost four years ago, and we are now married and going strong.

Now, back to our series of children’s books. Our children’s books center around a young boy Timmy and his imaginary friend, the Little Fart. We wanted to create a book that would make kids laugh and want to read, draw them in. Kids think that farts are funny, there’s no denying that.

Fart Hockey Kindle Cover.jpgWe didn’t just want to make silly books, though. We also wanted to include a subtle message about different issues which kids would face growing up. The first was the Day My Fart Followed Me Home which was more about kids accepting other kids as their friends even though they might be a little different. The next book was the Day My Fart Followed Me To Hockey which teaches kids that no matter what happens in sports and competition it’s all about having a go and having fun. The last one was a Christmas book, The Day My Fart Followed Santa Up The Chimney.

We are looking at our next book in the series now. Throughout these books, we have constantly been learning about writing, illustration, covers, formatting and most importantly of all, marketing. If I had one piece of advice for any author looking at getting their books published it would be just to keep trying, don’t give up!

You can check out our books on Amazon.

Amazon Author Page

Goodreads Page

Facebook The Little Fart

One thought on “A guest post from Ben Jackson.

Add yours

  1. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but
    your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your
    website to come back in the future. Many thanks

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑