The Belgariad – a series review


The Belgariad

David Eddings


Pawn of Prophecy: Book 1 of The Belgariad

Myths tell of the ancient wars of Gods and men, and a powerful object – the Orb – that ended the bloodshed. As long as it was held by the line of Riva, it would assure the peace.
But a dark force has stolen the Orb, and the prophecies tell of war.
Young farm boy Garion knows nothing of myth or fate. But then the mysterious Old Storyteller visits his aunt, and they embark on a sudden journey. Pursued by evil forces, with only a small band of companions they can trust, Garion begins to doubt all he thought he knew…

Queen of Sorcery: Book 2 of The Belgariad

The evil God Torak covets dominion over all men. If the stolen Orb of Aldur reaches him, he will surely gain what he desires.
Garion travels through strange lands with master sorcerers Belgarath and Polgara in frantic pursuit of the Orb. But as his own powers grow, Garion starts to realize that he too may have a part to play – a part he is not sure he wants…

Magician’s Gambit: Book 3 of The Belgariad

Travelling through ever more dangerous realms, Garion and his companions pursue the stolen Orb. Among them Ce’Nedra, the Imperial Princess – one whose fate seems bound to his.
As they get closer to their goal and battle looms, Garion’s powers of sorcery – and his spirit – are tested to their limits.

Castle of Wizardy: Book 4 of The Belgariad

The Orb is regained, the quest near its end. Garion and his companions have only to reach Riva and return the Orb, to allow peace to reign once more.
But fate still has a card to play for Garion. And it is his life that must be gambled…

Enchanters’ End Game: Book 5 of The Belgariad

With Garion on the throne, peace has finally come to the West. But as long as the evil God Torak still lives, he knows they will never truly be safe.
As Princess Ce’Nedra leads her armies in a desperate bid to divert the Evil One’s forces, Garion travels to the City of Endless Night to face Torak for the last time.
But one question haunts him: can man ever destroy an immortal God?

There are five books in this series, and I was originally going to review them separately, I decided, though, that it made more sense to review the series as a whole.

The plot for the Belgariad is good, but not exactly original, it’s almost standard for the genre. What helps this series is the writing, which is better than average, though it is aimed at more of a teen readership than an adult audience – I’ve recently developed a taste for harder, grittier fantasy, and this isn’t it. In addition to the writing there are good characters, all of whom are well-developed, gradually, so as not to overwhelm the reader, and some decent action sequences.

The lands and the people visited during the quest are described in sufficient detail that it’s easy to picture them in your mind, they are all distinct, while reflecting a real civilization  from history. The desolation of the site of the final fight is as well-described as the other locations, and adds to the ending, which is both action-packed and emotional.

If you’re okay with your fantasy being on the softer side, then this is a good one for you.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: