An interview with…Peri June

This week’s interview is with Peri June, an enigmatic young lady with a slightly mysterious bio; here it is in her own words, just so you can get a sense of the type of person she is –

A18P4k8Y4BL._UX250_.jpgI’m a twenty-something girl living somewhere on planet Earth. I’m a long-time reader, but a fairly new writer.
My vices include eating mountains of chocolate and binge watching TV shows.
I’m a nocturnal creature of the worst kind–reading (and writing) is just so much better at night.

Now that we know something of Peri the person, if that’s really possible from the little she says about herself, let’s find out about Peri the writer…

Me – How did you get into writing?

PJ – I’ve always scribbled my ideas down, but never thought they would see the light of day until a family member encouraged me to sit down and write one of my ideas to completion. So I did, simply to see if I could.

Me – Have you always wanted to be a writer?

PJ – It has always been a thought at the back of my mind, but I never imagined I would try to accomplish it—the idea of people reading what I wrote and judging it terrified me, but then I decided to get over myself.

Me – What genre do you write in? Do you restrict yourself to just the one genre?

PJ – I write Young Adult because I’m still a teenager at heart, lol. I would like to branch out and try other genres eventually.

Me – If you could be a character in one of your books, who would you be and why?

PJ – I would be Sam, the love interest in My Life As I Knew It. He made me laugh so much whenever he appeared on the page, and I’m a firm believer that anything in life can be solved if you have a sense of humor about it.

Me – Which of your books, if you have released more than one, is your favourite?

PJ – I only have the one.

Me – If you haven’t already, what genre would you most like to release a book in?

PJ – I would love to someday release something urban fantasy! I love reading them, so the process of writing one could be fun.

Me – Do you ever have ideas that you don’t feel capable of doing justice to? (I have ideas for both fantasy and romance that I’m not sure I’m the right person to turn into books)

PJ – Oh, all the time. I have an idea about a series that I don’t think I will ever put to paper. Every time I think about it, I go naaaah, it’ll be rubbish.

Me – Are you a purist when it comes to the genres you write, or do you like to mix them up?

PJ – I get bored easily, so a mix of genres is the way to go for me.

Me – What made you decide to self-publish?

PJ – Because I have problems with impulse control, and I wanted to release the book this year instead of waiting around to be rejected a bunch of times first. So one night, I sat down at my computer and hit ‘Publish’.

Me – Are you exclusive to Amazon or do you make your books available through the other retailers?

PJ – Exclusive to Amazon.

Me – If you’re exclusive to Amazon, why?

PJ – I read the experiences of several indie authors and most of them said concentrating their efforts into one retailer brought better results in the end—the sales they got from the others were hardly worth mentioning. Also, KDP Select offer of free days or Kindle Countdown Deals appealed to me.

Now that Peri had answered all of my questions, here’s her book, which I hope you will like the sound of and go and buy.

MyLifeAsIKnewIt.jpg.jpgEven the people closest to you can be monsters.

It happened like this: Screaming…A knife…Blood.

Maggie Martin is plagued by nightmares.
This hasn’t always been the case. She used to be your typical 17-year-old, worrying about boyfriends and college applications.
Until, one night, when she wakes up to the sound of screaming and witnesses the unthinkable. Now she’s scrambling to put the pieces of her life back together, which is not as easy as everyone would like her to believe.
Especially when she’s struggling just to BREATHE.

Sam is intrigued by the quiet, new girl from the moment he lays eyes on her. Out of sheer boredom, he decides to include her in his circle of friends, then he’s surprised by how much he starts to care about her.
Sam doesn’t understand why Maggie won’t let him get close to her…until he stumbles across her secret.

Buy on Kindle

If you’d like to try and get to know Peri a little better, which by all accounts seems to be a tricky thing, you can find her at the following places

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

Amazon

10 thoughts on “An interview with…Peri June

Add yours

  1. “Because I have problems with impulse control, and I wanted to release the book this year instead of waiting around to be rejected a bunch of times first. So one night, I sat down at my computer and hit ‘Publish’.”

    I wonder how many self published authors get into the game by doing exactly this*

    *I did exactly this.

    Like

    1. I suspect it’s quite a few of us. We’re either sure we’re going to be rejected by the trads, or don’t want to face the possibility, so we go it alone. I think many of us are better off for doing so.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

